The Constitution of 1818

                                                                                                                                                           Article VII

For almost 200 years the Congregationalist Church had been the established church. The Seventh Article of the 1818 Constitution disestablished a state church, granted equality before the law of all Christian denominations and disallowed church membership as a qualification for government membership and leadership.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *